Meet new Dragon Trainers, make friends and talk about non-dragon related topics!
no avatar

Iliamna

MVP

Amazon Mobile (Kindle)

Alaska

Introduce Yourself!

Sat Mar 13, 2021 7:48 am
Hi all! This thread is a "get to know each other" thread. I encourage you to share only what you feel comfortable sharing. No real personal information, please. No addresses, emails, etc. 

This is what I feel comfortable sharing with everyone: My name is Melanie, and I have lived in Alaska for nearly my entire life. I was born here, the third of what would turn out to be five kids. Living in Alaska is different than most of the rest of the United States. It's a huge state with a very small population, and with very little daylight in winter and very little dark in the summers, it's not an easy place for many people to adapt to. But, of course, it's what I'm used to.

I have a Bachelor's degree in Music and taught private lessons for many years. But my heart's passion is animals. I've studied animal behavior thoroughly, working first with sled dogs, then horses for many years before coming back to dogs in a new direction, studying how to work with the dog and owner to build the strongest and most trusting relationship possible. I taught obedience classes, everything from Puppy Kindergarten to Basic and Advanced Obedience and even Competition Obedience, all levels. With my own dogs, I earn 35+ titles in various performance-type events.